Case Writing: Recommended Books & Articles

This ultimate guide focuses on case research, writing, and teaching for a revolutionary new form of teaching case--Compact Cases. Designed to be read in 15 minutes or less, Compact Cases provide a more engaging learning experience for today's students. Compact Cases overcome students' lack of preparation for case discussions by making cases more accessible, readable and engaging. Whether students read a Compact Case before class or in class, better learning outcomes can be achieved by actively engaging students in case analysis and discussion. Annotated cases, examples from published cases, helpful checklists, roadmaps, and writing prompts are provided to assist others in mastering the writing of short teaching cases and the accompanying teaching notes. Readers will learn to identify suitable case topics, develop effective learning objectives, use appropriate research methodologies, write lively and short prose, create more engaging exhibits, and prepare value-added teaching notes. Teaching strategies for effectively using Compact Cases online, in person, or blended teaching modes are provided. Strategies for publishing cases are provided to help case writers successfully share their work with others. Novice and experienced case writers will find tips, ideas, and strategies to improve student learning by using and writing Compact Cases.

This case writing workbook offers something unique in the world of case writing manuals. The third edition of The Case Writing Workbook: A Guide for Faculty and Students provides 11 standalone chapters that focus specifically on challenges related to the case writing process. The book is meant for day-to-day use as a model of the case writing process, with exercises, worksheets, and training activities that will guide you through the entire course of writing both a traditional case and Instructor's Manual or a concise/short case and its associated Teaching Note. Brief explanatory notes will lead you step-by-step through all the developmental exercises, including readying the case for publication and teaching it in the classroom or online. Designed as an individualized workshop to assist case authors to structure their writing, this book combines the easy-to-understand, student-focused language with new material covering the latest developments and challenges in the world of case writing. These include: * A fresh focus on writing and teaching concise cases, which are particularly suited to the world of blended learning. * Emphasis on secondary research methodology, particularly using digital technologies and social media. * A new case study running throughout the book, with restructured worksheets and notes to support it. * Enhanced online case teaching information and discussion of the development of multi-media cases, particularly using video. Complete instructor's materials to support the text are available online, including PowerPoint presentations, guidance on embedding cases within the curriculum, a sample syllabus that incorporates cases within it, and selected student assignments and handouts. Finishing all the book's assignments will result in a complete case and Instructor's Manual that can be tested in the classroom and submitted to a conference or journal.

The complete guide for how to design and conduct theory-testing and other case studies... Case Study Methodology in Business Research sets out structures and guidelines that assist students and researchers from a wide range of disciplines to develop their case study research in a consistent and rigorous manner. It clarifies the differences between practice-oriented and theory-oriented research and, within the latter category, between theory-testing and theory-building. It describes in detail how to design and conduct different types of case study research, providing students and researchers with everything they need for their project. The main aims are to: * present a broad spectrum of types of case study research (including practice-oriented case studies, theory-building case studies and theory-testing case studies) in one consistent methodological framework. * emphasize and clearly illustrate that the case study is the preferred research strategy for testing deterministic propositions such as those expressing a necessary condition case by case and that the survey is the preferred research strategy for testing probabilistic propositions. * stress the role of replication in all theory-testing research, irrespective of which research strategy is chosen for a specific test. * give more weight to the importance of theory-testing relative to theory-building. Case Study Methodology in Business Research is a clear, concise and comprehensive text for case study methodology. Templates are supplied for case study protocol and how to report a case study. A modular textbook primarily aimed at serving research methodology courses for final year undergraduate students and graduate students in Business Administration and Management, which is also useful as a handbook for researchers. Written by Jan Dul, Professor of Technology and Human Factors, RSM Erasmus University, Rotterdam and Tony Hak, Associate professor of Research Methodology, RSM Erasmus University, Rotterdam, in collaboration with other authors from RSM Erasmus University.

This book deconstructs the case study, describes the case writing process and explains how a good case study is composed. It is a reference book that accompanies case writers on their case writing journey. It serves as a guide for writers to develop case studies for teaching,   research, and knowledge-capture. There are illustrations and charts to help writers visualise concepts, signpost ideas, break down complex information and apply techniques in a practical manner.

The Case Study method of teaching and learning, adopted by business schools and management centres globally, provides an important function in management education, but employing it effectively can often be a challenge. This book provides practical insights, tools and approaches for both case teaching and writing, drawing on perspectives from expert practitioners around the world. This book aims to critically examine different approaches to using case studies in group-based, participant-centred learning environments, exploring good practices for case teaching and learning. It provides guidance for case writers on various approaches to structuring case data, presentational formats, and the use of technology in the construction of different types of cases. It also demonstrates the use of the case method as a tool for assessment, supporting students' own development of cases to showcase good practice in organisations. The final section of this book showcases some of the resources available, providing links and reviews of additional material that can support future case teaching and writing practice, including publication. The Case Study Companion is designed for lecturers using cases within their teaching across all management disciplines, as well as those training for Professional Development and Management Education qualifications. It will also be useful for postgraduate, MBA and Executive Education students wanting to make the most of case studies in their learning and assessments.

Offering a step-by-step guide on how to write an impactful decision-based teaching case for business education, this book aids in the creation of resources that will be essential for an academic curriculum. It demonstrates how the case and teaching note can be prepared and presented for a successful submission to publishers. How to Write Great Business Cases provides concise case writing guidance applicable to case writers from any business discipline. It covers the core elements of writing a decision-based case such as interviews and case testing. Ultimately, readers of this essential book will be taught how to write an engaging business case that will pique students' interests. This accessible book will be perfect for novice case writers endeavouring to succeed in the case writing process, with particular focus applied to North American case writing opportunities. It will additionally be beneficial for experienced case researchers as well as academics of business and management wishing to enrich their practice and author further publications. How to Write Great Business Cases delivers just what its title promises--a practical guide to crafting cases that engage students and instructors' manuals that show how to meet learning objectives in the classroom. Useful for both new and experienced writers, this book covers it all, from selecting a topic to getting your case published."-Anne T. Lawrence, PhD Chair, Case Research Foundation, US

Winner of the 2019 McGuffey Longevity Award from the Textbook & Academic Authors Association (TAA) Recognized as one of the most cited methodology books in the social sciences, the Sixth Edition of Robert K. Yin′s bestselling text provides a complete portal to the world of case study research. With the integration of 11 applications in this edition, the book gives readers access to exemplary case studies drawn from a wide variety of academic and applied fields. Ultimately, Case Study Research and Applications will guide students in the successful use and application of the case study research method.

Unique in his approach and style, Robert E. Stake draws from naturalistic, holistic, ethnographic, phenomenological, and biographic methods to present a disciplined, qualitative exploration of case study methods. In his exploration, Stake uses and annotates an actual case, at Harper School, to demonstrate to readers how to resolve some of the major issues of case study research; for example, how to select the case (or cases) that will maximize learning, how to generalize what is learned from one case to another, and how to interpret what is learned from a case. Uniquely, this book legitimizes direct interpretation as a case research method. It covers such topics as the differences between quantitative and qualitative approaches to case study; data gathering, including document review; coding, sorting, and pattern analysis; the roles of the researcher, triangulation; and reporting a case study. Also provided are end-of-chapter "workshops" that help students focus on new concepts. Written with the inspired and thought-provoking style of a master storyteller, The Art of Case Study Research helps readers chart their way through the labyrinth of case study research.

Providing a complete portal to the world of case study research, the Fifth Edition of Robert K. Yin′s bestselling text offers comprehensive coverage of the design and use of the case study method as a valid research tool. The book offers a clear definition of the case study method as well as discussion of design and analysis techniques. The Fifth Edition has been updated with nine new case studies, three new appendices, seven tutorials presented at the end of relevant chapters, increased coverage of values and ethics, expanded discussion on logic models, a brief glossary, and completely updated citations. This book includes exemplary case studies drawn from a wide variety of academic fields.

If you're enrolled in an executive education or MBA program, you've probably encountered a powerful learning tool: the business case. But if you're like many people, you may find interpreting and writing about cases mystifying, challenging, or downright frustrating. In "The Case Study Handbook", William Ellet presents a potent new approach for analyzing, discussing, and writing about cases. Early chapters show how to classify cases according to the analytical task they require (solving a problem, making a decision, or forming an evaluation) and quickly establish a base of knowledge about a case. Strategies and templates, in addition to several sample Harvard Business School cases, help you apply the author's framework. Later in the book, Ellet shows how to write persuasive case-analytical essays based on the process laid out earlier. Extensive examples of effective and ineffective writing further reinforce your learning. The book also includes a chapter on how to talk about cases more effectively in class.

Case method teaching immerses students in realistic business situations--which include incomplete information, time constraints, and conflicting goals. The class discussion inherent in case teaching is well known for stimulating the development of students' critical thinking skills, yet instructors often need guidance on managing that class discussion to maximize learning. Teaching with Cases focuses on practical advice for instructors that can be easily implemented. It covers how to plan a course, how to teach it, and how to evaluate it. The book is organized by the three elements required for a great case-based course: 1) advance planning by the instructor, including implementation of a student contract; 2) how to make leading a vibrant case discussion easier and more systematic; and 3) planning for student evaluation after the course is complete. Teaching with Cases is ideal for anyone interested in case teaching, whether basing an entire course on cases, using cases as a supplement, or simply using discussion facilitation techniques. To learn more about the book, and to see resources available, visit teachingwithcases.hbsp.harvard.edu.